Colloquial English

I’m getting over a cold

We often say that we are getting over something bad, like an illness, and it means “recovering from” (康复) or “getting better”after something bad. For example, I’m still getting over a nasty cold means “I’m not better yet; I’m still recovering”

 You could hear  conversation like this, in which get over changes to got over because it is in the past tense:

Have you got over your cold yet? Last time I saw you, you were coughing all the time. 

Just about – but I’m not back to normal yet. 

The reply, just about means nearly.

Also when talking about negative experiences, we might say:

Have you got over the shock [] of the car accident?

No, I can’t get it out of my mind – I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. 

Or, has she got over losing her dog yet? means, “has she forgotten about it and stopped being sad about her dog dying?”

However, it would probably be rude to use get over if you are talking about a person dying, because this is something that people are allowed to be sad about, so we wouldn’t expect them to get over it easily.

I’m knackered!

knackered is more of a slang word than the above expressions and it is more informal. If you are knackered, then you are very tired. For example, I just ran all the way home – I’m knackered, or, I don’t want to go to the cinema tonight – I’m knackered cuz I’ve been working all day (notice also that because changes to ‘cuz’ in colloquial speech).

Sometimes knackered can mean break. For example, I knackered the microwave by putting a metal plate in it – there’s no way it will ever work again. 

Leave a Reply

